Description: The Old Rectory
Date Listed: 31 July 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 232545
OS Grid Reference: SP9763880924
OS Grid Coordinates: 497638, 280924
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4176, -0.5658
Explore more of the area around Lowick, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
SP9780 LOWICK MAIN ROAD
13/111 The Old Rectory
Rectory, now house. 1855/6 by Edward Browning for Reverend Pretyman. Squared
coursed limestone with Colleyweston slate roofs. Complex double-depth plan. 2
storeys. Entrance front is a 5-window range with gables breaking forward to left
and right. 2-storey gabled porch, attached to right gable, has arch-head door
with moulded stone surround. Stone mullion oriel window above. Large square-head
stone mullion stair window, with tracery, to left of porch. Other windows have
stone mullions, some have hood moulds with carved label stops. Ashlar gable
parapets. Ashlar stacks at ridge and ends have flues linked by arches. Elevation
to right has square bay window with stone mullions to left and gable to right
with lateral stack. Garden front to rear of entrance front has irregularly
spaced gables to left and right and canted bay window with stone mullions to
left. 2-storey gabled building attached to far right of garden front was
originally probably intended for parish facilities, but now forms part of house.
Interior: entrance hall has staircase around open well with Gothic style
balustrade, some doors have Gothic panelling. During C19 Reverend Lucas Collis
entertained literary figures here including Anthony Trollope and George Eliot,
who are said to have done some of their writing here.
(V.C.H.: Northamptonshire, Vol.3, p.213; Strapentoria, Vol.5, p.7 by J.
Brassington; Northamptonshire Records Office, Architectural drawings
Listing NGR: SP9763880924
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.