Description: Sundial, Attached Walls and Outbuilding Approximately 20 Metres South West of Manor Farmhouse
Date Listed: 23 May 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 232899
OS Grid Reference: SK9947402914
OS Grid Coordinates: 499474, 302914
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6149, -0.5322
Explore more of the area around Collyweston, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
COLLYWESTON BACK LANE
SK9902 (South side)
8/35 Sundial, attached walls and
23/05/67 outbuilding approx. 20m SW of
(Formerly listed as Sundial at
Sundial, attached walls and outbuilding. Probably late C17 with C18 sundial.
Squared coursed limestone, sundial has ashlar facade, outbuilding has
Collyweston slate roof. Sundial is an eliptically arched recess, set in the
wall, with Roman numerals following the springing line. Small moulded cornice
above numerals and moulded cornice above arch. Attached walls form 3 sides of
former kitchen garden. Square head doorway, set in east wall spur, has moulded
stone surround. Outbuilding in south-west corner, may have been a summerhouse.
Square head doorway, with chamfered stone surround, and oval window with stone
surround. East wall continues southwards to cottage in Hall Yarn (not included).
The walls may have been the kitchen garden walls to the house built on the site
ol Collyweston Palace. The Palace, which had been the home of Lady Margaret
Beaufort, Countess of Richmond was dismantled about 1640. A new house was built
on the site by the Tryon family probably in the mid/late C17.
(RCHM: An Inventory of Architectural Monuments in North Northamptonshire: p33)
Listing NGR: SK9947402914
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.