Description: Vicarage, Chantry House, Bede House and Attached Carriage House
Date Listed: 23 September 1950
English Heritage Building ID: 233659
OS Grid Reference: SP9119371975
OS Grid Coordinates: 491193, 271975
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3383, -0.6629
Explore more of the area around Finedon, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
FINEDON CHURCH HILL
SP9172, SP9171 (West side)
6/8 7/8 Vicarage, Chantry House, Bede
House and attached carriage
(Formally listed as Vicarage
including east and west wings
Vicarage, now vicarage and 2 houses. Datestones RA.1688. AR. and 1834, C18
additions. Built for Rogrt Altham. Squared coursed ironstone with Collyweston
slate roof. Originally probably 3-unit plan, now U-shaped. 2 storeys with attic.
7-window range. Central glazed door with C20 moulded wood surround. 4-light
wooden cross windows with leaded lights under wood lintels. 4 flat-top roof
dormers hav leaded lights. Ashlar gable parapets and kneelers and bricks and
stone stacks at ridge and end. Datestone 1688 to first floor left of entrance.
Elevation to left of main front, now Chantry House, is probably C18 with some
sash windows. Elevation to right of main front, now Bede House, is similar with
datestone 1836 to right range. Late C18 coach house attached to Chantry house
has central carriage arch and 3 gables with hayloft doors. Interior: early C19
staircase with stick balustrade to first floor and C17 staircase with turnd
balustrade to attics. Panelled window reveals: some C17 and C18 panelled doors.
Remains of open fireplace in hall.
Listing NGR: SP9119371975
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.