Description: The Gatehouse
Date Listed: 9 June 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 233701
OS Grid Reference: SP9115372096
OS Grid Coordinates: 491153, 272096
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3394, -0.6635
Explore more of the area around Finedon, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
FINEDON STATION R0AD
SP9172 (West side)
6/49 The Gatehouse
09/06/70 Formerly listed as Gatehouse
to Finedon Hall)
Gatehouse and parish hall, now house. Datestone 1870. Probably by E.F. Law for
William Mackworth-Dolben. Squared coursed ironstone with fishscale tile roof.
Originally probably one-unit hall plan. One storey with attic. 2-window range of
7-light stone mullion windows. C19 plank door has moulded stone surround.
Moulded stone cornice and flat topped C20 roof dormer. Ashlar gable parapets and
stone stacks at ends, Inscription along cornice, "Bear ye one anothers burdens
and so fulfill the law of Christ". Right gable has datestone and moulded stone
roundel with initials "V.R." Arch head niches above and 4 similar -oundels
below. C20 extension to rear. Interior not inspected.
(Finedon Otherwise Thingdon by J.L.H. Bailey, p.131).
Listing NGR: SP9115372096
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.