Description: The Old Rectory
Date Listed: 4 July 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 234067
OS Grid Reference: SP5449246955
OS Grid Coordinates: 454492, 246955
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1182, -1.2056
Explore more of the area around Culworth, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
CULWORTH QUEENS STREET
SP5446 (North side)
11/38 The Old Rectory
House, formerly rectory. 1854 with extensions in 1869. By E F. Law for the
Reverend Charles Hill. Datestone 1854/C.S.H, on left side. Ironstone ashlar,
Limestone dressings, roof covered by snow at time of survey, brick stacks.
L-plan. Elaborate Gothic Revival. 2 storeys and attic, 5 bays. Main block to
left, 3 bays, has central castellated tower with doorway under pointed stone
arch and double half-glazed dour. Gabled bay to right has canted bay window with
stone mullions on the ground floor. 3-light stone mullioned and transomed window
to left. 2-light stone mullioned window in left bay on first floor. Window of 2
trefoil-headed lights above entrance, and of 3-trefoiled lights to right. Attic
windows in right gable and tower, each 2 trefoil-headed lancets. Lower wing set
back to right, of 2 irregular gabled bays, has 3-light stone mullioned windows
on the ground floor, that to left with transom. Trefoil shaped window in left
bay on the first floor. 2 pointed lights with transom in right bay. Interior:
Stone staircase with iron balustrade. Marble fireplaces. Ornamental plaster
cornices. Stained glass screen at entrance to hall with roundels painted with
views of church and rectory. Said to have been built at the expense of The Rev.
Charles Hill's father-in-law, a Birmingham bujinessman,
(Buildings-of England: Northamptonshire, p.172).
Listing NGR: SP5449246955
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.