Description: Hill House
Date Listed: 11 August 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 242309
OS Grid Reference: SK7045853970
OS Grid Coordinates: 470458, 353970
Latitude/Longitude: 53.0783, -0.9497
Explore more of the area around Southwell, Nottinghamshire at Explore Britain.
1919-0/11/19 (South side)
11/08/61 Hill House
House, now a school boarding house. Dated 1800 on rainwater
head, with mid C19 and late C19 additions. Built for the Rev.
J T Becher. Brick with stone dressings and hipped slate roofs.
Plinth, first floor and sill bands, dentilled eaves. 5 ridge
stacks. 3 storeys. Main east front has a projecting pedimented
centre and a range of 5 glazing bar sashes. Above, 5 similar
smaller sashes. All these have multi-keystoned heads. Below,
to left, a canted parapeted bay window dated 1857 on rainwater
head, with 3 plain sashes. To right, 3 plain sashes with
multi-keystoned heads. Northern entrance front has to left a
projecting wing with 3 windows, the 2 to left being blank.
Above, similar fenestration with smaller windows. On the
ground floor, 2 blanks to the left and 2 glazing bar sashes to
the right. To the right, a 3-bay range of glazing bar sashes,
and above, 3 smaller sashes. Below, to left, a flat roofed
porch with Tuscan columns and entablature, covering a mid C19
half-glazed door with flanking lights and overlight. To the
right, a tripartite and a single sash. To right again, a set
back 2-storey service wing, pebbledashed. 2 plain sashes and
below, a panelled door with overlight, and to right, a glazing
bar sash. All windows to this front have keystoned lintels.
South side has 2 hipped blocks each of 3 windows. To the
right, a mid C19 parapeted single storey addition with an
angled corner and 3 plain sashes. To its right, a late C19
hipped loggia with 2 stone columns. Interior has a central
stairwell with a cantilever stone staircase, the top flight
wood, with moulded string, stick balusters and ramped and
scrolled handrail. C19 glazed toplight. Panelled and moulded
round headed openings on the north side. Dining room, to left
of east front, has moulded wall panels and cornice and
Classical wooden fireplace with fluted piers. John Thomas
Becher was prebendary of South Muskham, 1819-1848, and was a
prominent worker in Poor Law reform.
Listing NGR: SK7045853970
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.