Description: Minchery Farmhouse
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 246509
OS Grid Reference: SP5453502285
OS Grid Coordinates: 454535, 202285
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7167, -1.2120
Explore more of the area around Littlemore, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SP 50 SW SANDFORD-ON-THAMES
1/109 Minchery Farmhouse.
Farmhouse, now country club. C15 dormitory range of Littlemore Priory
reconstructed c.1600. Limestone rubble with squared dressings; old plain-tile
roof with stone and brick ridge stacks. Single range running north-south with
stair tower on west. 2 storeys plus attics. 5-window entrance front (west) has
central doorway with 4-centre moulded stone arch and label. To right a C20 3-
light window with a C20 stone-mullioned window beyond. Between, a single light
at intermediate height in line with stone stack, with ovolo-moulded surround.
At first floor, mullioned windows of 2,3 and 2 lights, only that over the door
having its original ovolo-moulded stonework. Left from the door is a gabled
stair tower of 2 storeys with C19 window openings under stone segmental
arches. To left is a further bay with re-modelled openings and a secondary
entrance. A single-bay 2-storey extension from the north gable wall is
probably late C18. The east front has at first floor a row of 5 evenly spaced
single lights. They are probably C15 and have trefoil and cinquefoil heads in
concave-chamfered rectangular surrounds. To right is a 4-light mullioned
window, also concave-chamfered. At ground floor is a doorway, opposite the
main entrance, with moulded 4-centre arched head. To left is a C15 window with
2 trefoil-headed lights and beyond a single light with chamfered stone
surround. To right a mutilated mullioned window of 2 chamfered lights and
another C15 window of 2 trefoiled-headed lights. Bay to extreme left has C20
altered openings. South gable wall with brick stack was probably rebuilt in
C18. Interior: Now much altered, but has several chamfered and stopped beams
and 2-stone moulded Tudor-arched fireplaces at first floor. The early C17 dog-
leg stair rising to the attics has pierced flat balusters and lantern finials
and pendants. Wooden 3-centre arches with carved spandrels over the flights.
The 7-bay roof has 8 heavy queen-post trusses, each with collars clasping
purlins, the top collar being cambered. Views of about 1826 show mullioned
windows throughout, roughly in the present arrangement, but the west front has
the remains of a stone porch, and also has a Gothic-arched doorway to right of
the single light former stair window.
(V.C.H. Oxfordshire V, pp.267-8; Buildings of England, Oxfordshire, pp.689-90:
W.A. Pantin, "Minchery Farm, Littlemore", Oxoniensia Vol 35 (1970), pp.19-26;
National Monuments Record).
Listing NGR: SP5453502285
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.