Description: Temple Farmhouse
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 246510
OS Grid Reference: SP5318401877
OS Grid Coordinates: 453184, 201877
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7131, -1.2316
Explore more of the area around Sandford-on-Thames, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SP 5301 SANDFORD-ON-THAMES
10/110 Temple Farmhouse.
Farmhouse, now country club. C16, possibly earlier and C18 reconstructed
c.1900. Limestone rubble with ashlar dressings; old plain-tile roof. 2-
parallel ranges with linking wing. 2 storeys plus attics. Moulded eaves-coves,
gable parapets, stone stacks and much else in the main range dates from the
re-building, but the entrance front has 2 earlier windows at first floor: to
left a C16 stone-mullioned window with 3 concave-chamfered 4-centre arched
lights, and above the entrance a 2-light window with 2-centre arched lights,
concave chamfered but with no outer rebate. Re-set shield carved with cross
pattee over entrance. Gable of projecting wing to right has a C16 3-light
window with 4-centre arched lights and double concave chamfer. Below is a C20
copy. Extending right from projecting wing is an C18 2-storey 2-window cottage
range with central door and 3-light casements. Left gable wall of main range is
probably early C17 and has concave-chamfered mullioned windows with straight
hood-moulds. Rear has two C15 windows of 2 and 3 (remains) lights with concave-
chamfered 4-centre arched lights and an outer casement moulding, also a crude
arched single light. Interior: Main range has some C17 panelling and a C16
moulded stone fireplace with Tudor roses carved in the spandrels. Roof has 3
heavy cambered tie-beams, morticed on the soffit for braces. The building is on
the site of a preceptory of the Knights Templars, later transfered to the
Knights Hospitallers of St. John.
(V.C.H. Oxfordshire V, p.268; Buildings of England Oxfordshire, p.750).
Listing NGR: SP5318401877
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.