Description: The Priory and Attached Steps, Walls and Gateway
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 246863
OS Grid Reference: SP6295702610
OS Grid Coordinates: 462957, 202610
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7187, -1.0900
Explore more of the area around Great Milton, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
GREAT MILTON CHURCH ROAD
SP60SW (East side)
5/97 The Priory and attached steps,
18/07/63 walls and gateway
Large house. Ci6 and C17. Coursed limestone rubble with ashlar quoins; old
plain-tile roof and brick stacks. L-plan. 2 storeys plus attics. Parapeted
3-gable front has stone-mullioned windows, all with concave chamfers and labels.
4-centre arched entrance to left of centre with 3 large 3-light windows at
ground floor, probably C19; 4 windows at first floor, of 2 and 3 lights; 2-light
windows in gables. Stone cartouche with arms of Boyle over the door. Large stack
to right of centre with 4 clustered diagonal shafts and second stack in left
gable wall, probably inserted since windows below are blocked. Right gable also
has a 2-light gable window and a blocked 3-light window below. Rear has 2
gables, one with large mullioned windows, the other behind the stack and
containing the stair. A 4-light roof dormer has a moulded bargeboard and the
pendant of an apex finial. 3-bay rear wing of 2 storeys returns on left and is
of square coursed rubble. It has similar mullioned windows but is probably an
early-C17 addition. A gabled extension has been added on the left. Interior. 2
wide Tudor-arched fireplaces, back to back; large kitchen fireplace with
keyblock in the rear wing. A wide flight of stone steps ascends against the rear
gable wall to a Jacobean gateway with a stone gable and 3 ball finials. The gate
is set in a wall with steep coping which extends further down the garden as a
retaining wall and forms the rear wall of a stone outbuilding. A low wall with a
similar coping ascends beside the steps. Said to have been built for Dr.
Westfalling who became Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University in 1565 and Bishop
of Hereford in 1585. Oliver Cromwell and John Milton are reputed to have visited
John Thurloe, Secretary of State, during his tenancy.
(V.C.H.: Oxfordshire, Vol VII, p.l19; Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, p.623).
Listing NGR: SP6295702610
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.