Description: Hardwick House
Date Listed: 24 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 247421
OS Grid Reference: SU6593377732
OS Grid Coordinates: 465933, 177732
Latitude/Longitude: 51.4947, -1.0516
Explore more of the area around Whitchurch-on-Thames, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
9/203 Hardwick House
Country House. Probably early C16; wing of mid C17, with C18, C19 and C20
alterations. Flint base; red brick; plain tile roof; brick stacks. Complex plan.
Tudor style. 2 storeys and attic; 8-window range. Central part-glazed studded
C19 door with stone surround with 4-centred arch, trefoil carving to spandrels
and hood mould. Irregular fenestration, mostly stone mullioned windows; stone
cross-windows to mid C17 cross-wing to left; C19 angled 2-storey bay window to
right. Cross-gables to attic with mullioned windows. Complex roof. Diagonally
set stacks to centre and right. Rectangular stacks with panelled sides to left.
Left hand return: 2 storeys and attic; 4-window range. Stone cross windows with
hood moulds to all openings. Flat brick bands between ground and first floor,
and first floor and attic. 3 cross-gables to attic, with 2-light stone mullion
window to each, with blind round panel above. C18 tower to rear with oval
windows and ogee lead dome. Interior: Dining room, ground floor left has rococo
plasterwork of c.1750. C19 open well Tudor-style staircase. Room to first floor
right late C16. Plaster ceiling with pendant bosses and portrait heads in
medallions of Joshua, Julius Caesar, Fame and Elizabeth 1st (?). Frieze with
strapwork decoration. Panelled walls with blind arcading and pilasters.
Fireplace of chalk; overmantel panel depicts the sacrifice of Isaac. History:
House probably built by Richard Lybbe, who purchased the Manor from the Hardwick
family in 1526. South wing rebuilt c.1660 to replace part of the house damaged
by bombardment by Cromwell's troops during the Civil War. Large late C19
additions, recently demolished.
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, p.839-840).
Listing NGR: SU6593377732
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.