Description: Camoys Court
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 248350
OS Grid Reference: SU5920398588
OS Grid Coordinates: 459203, 198588
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6829, -1.1451
There is also a scheduled monument, Chislehampton Bridge, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Stadhampton, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SU5998 (South side)
13/139 Camoys Court
18/07/63 (Formerly listed as Camoise
Farmhouse, probably originally a fortified house. Early C14 and C17. Coursed
squared limestone rubble and some chequer brick; old plain-tile roofs with brick
stacks. Double range with garderobe annexe and subsidiary wing. 2 storeys plus
attic. Double-gabled front, with lower range extending to left, has irregular
fenestration, mostly sashes but with a 3-light ground-floor casement to left,
and a leaded cross window with a keyblock flat arch to right at first floor;
gables have small leaded casements. The doorway to right of centre has a canopy
on Doric columns and there is a second doorway to left of centre. The right
return wall has late C19 brick bay windows. The rear of the C14 left range has
an arched window at first floor with 2 ogee-headed lights and a tracery light. A
2-storey block attached to the left rear angle of the range was probably a
garderobe wing and has 2 narrow windows with internal splays. C18 windows to
rear. Double-span roof has a large central ridge stack. Interior: C17 range to
right of through passage has a large open fireplace with a timber bressumer. C14
range has, at ground floor, a longitudinal beam carried on a Samson post with
solid brackets; first floor has the roll-moulded wall plates and tie beams of
the 3-bay wagon roof which is now above a later attic floor. The 2 crown-post
trusses have octagonal posts with the remains of moulded capitals and
roll-moulded 4-way arched braces. The range was probably the solar of a vanished
hall and probably dates from the "licence to crenellate" granted to Sir Richard
de Louches in 1318. The property later passed to Sir Thomas Camoys. The site is
(V.C.H.: Oxfordshire, Vol.VII, p.7; Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, p.524; M.
Wood: The English Medieval House, 1965, pp.306 and 380).
Listing NGR: SU5920398588
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.