Description: Chapel of St Mary, Approximately 150 Metres North West of Thame Park House
Date Listed: 10 April 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 248431
OS Grid Reference: SP7157803873
OS Grid Coordinates: 471578, 203873
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7290, -0.9650
Explore more of the area around Thame, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SP7103 (East side)
7/4 Chapel of St. Mary, approx.
150m. NW of Thame Park House
Chapel. Early C14, remodelled c.1836 by D. Harris and R. Abrahao for Sophia,
Baroness Wenman. Coursed stone rubble; lined render on stone rubble to west
front; stone slate roof. 2-bay nave and chancel plan. West front: plank double
door to centre with 2-centred moulded doorway with gabled surround having cross
to finial. C19 three-light window of Geometrical tracery with hood would to
centre. Angle buttresses to left and right. Battlemented parapet to gable with
octagonal bellcote to apex. South front: C14 blocked doorway to left with hood
mould. C19 two-light window of geometrical tracery with hood mould to right.
Parapet with quatrefoil panels to roof. Interior: C19 ceiling to nave of 4 bays
in Perpendicular style. Sexpartite vault to chancel with ribs springing from
left, corbels. C15 floor tiles to chancel floor. 4-centred chancel arch. Some
re-set C17 and C18 memorial slabs to nave floor. C19 pews, box pews and pulpit
with reading desk. C19 stone font on cluster columns. Wall monument by
Westmacott to Philip, 7th Lord Wenman. History: probably built outside gates by
Abbey as travellers chapel.
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, 1979, p.812; V.C.H.: Oxfordshire, Vol.7,
p.160 et seq).
Listing NGR: SP7157403877
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.