Description: The Prebenbdal
Date Listed: 24 April 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 248574
OS Grid Reference: SP7019606388
OS Grid Coordinates: 470196, 206388
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7518, -0.9845
Explore more of the area around Thame, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
THAME PRIEST END
SP7006SW (North-west side)
8/143 The Prebendal
24/04/51 (Formerly listed as Prebendal
(comprising House, Chapel and
block to west of Chapel with
Prebendal, now house. C13, restored 1836 by H.B. Hodgson for Charles Stone,
altered early and mid C20. Uncoursed stone rubble; old plain-tile complex roof;
stone chimney stacks. Single-ended hall house plan, with later alterations.
2-storey, 4-bay range. 2-storey gabled porch to right of centre. 4-centred
archway with square hood. Re-used C13 doorway inside porch has pointed arch with
hollow chamfer and roll moulding. C19 ribbed and studded door. Two 2-light stone
mullion and transom hall windows with cusp-topped lights and hood-moulds to
left. Stone buttress to left of centre. 3-light stone mullion window to ground
floor right. 2-light stone mullion window with hood mould to first floor right.
2-light stone mullion window with hood mould to first floor of porch. Stone
mullion windows to most other openings, some being reset. Interior: C20 stone
spiral staircase to rear. Hall drawing room to left has C15 wood ceiling,
brought from house in Essex, with beams carved with vine trails. Late C15 French
stone fireplace has stone hood on figure corbels. C15 stone hooded fireplace to
entrance hall. History: a prebend was established c.1140 by the Bishop of
Lincoln. In 1661 it was recorded as being ruinous. Site originally moated, now
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, 1979, p.812-4).
Listing NGR: SP7020906389
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.