Description: The White House
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 248978
OS Grid Reference: SU6880595739
OS Grid Coordinates: 468805, 195739
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6562, -1.0068
Explore more of the area around Pyrton, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
PYRTON CHURCH LANE
SU6895 (East side)
13/132 The White House
18/07/63 (Formerly listed as The Old
House. Late C15, extended in C17; extended and remodelled c.1800 for William
Buckle, vicar 1787 to 1832. Originally timber-framed with jettied and gable side
wings; close studding with brick nogging in left side wall. Roughcast; hipped
old tile roof; late C15/C16; brick right end stack and C.19 lateral stacks.
U-plan extended to double-depth plan. 2 storeys; 4-window range. Symmetrical
3-window range of c.1800 to right has stone porch with columns; decorative
overlight with armorial glass over 6-panelled door flanked by glazed strips.
2-light casements over porch flanked by canted bays with casement windows: bay
to left has 3-light leaded casements; parapet. One-storey bay, rendered with
plank door and leaded casement, links main house to 2-storey range to left,
rendered with hipped old tile roof. Early C19 brick wing to rear left, with
canted oriel window, adjoins C17 wing of chalk rubble with timber lintels over
sash and early C19 brick round-arched stair-light with ornamental leading and
spandrel-pane of C16 Flemish glass depicting Calvary. Interior: late C15 moulded
beam and post, and exposed timber framing in left room, which also has 4-centred
cavetto-moulded doorway with trefoils and quatrefoils carved in spandrels.
Central late C15 hall has beam with mortices for partition to left: c.1800 this
hall was divided into dining room with fireplace to left and hall with concave
ceiling and decorative fanlights over 2 doorways. Early C17 dog-leg staircase to
rear, possibly reset, with turned balusters, moulded handrail and newel finial.
First floor has fine room of c.1800 to rear left with fireplace and double-leaf
doors. Roof: central lower king-strut truss with clasped purlins and curved
windbraces in flanking wings, which were originally gabled to front before roof
remodelled c.1800. In 1665, the owner, Thomas Eustace (gent), paid tax on 6
hearths, so making the house the third largest in the area after Stonor House
and Pyrton House (q.v.). Described as "one of the prettiest abodes" in 1809,
after William Buckle's alterations. The late C15 doorway is a rare traceried
(V.C.H.: Oxfordshire, Vol.VIII, pp.140-141; H.B. Weinstock, Hearth Tax Returns,
Oxfordshire, 1665, Oxfordshire Record Society, Vol.XXI, (1940), p.19; M. Wood,
The English Medieval House, 1965, p.343).
Listing NGR: SU6880595739
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.