Description: Fragment of Castle Wall at Su 6096 8978
Date Listed: 9 December 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 249216
OS Grid Reference: SU6096589780
OS Grid Coordinates: 460965, 189780
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6036, -1.1211
There is also a scheduled monument, Wallingford Castle, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Wallingford, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
WALLINGFORD CASTLE LANE
SU6089NE (East side)
10/57 Fragment of Castle wall at
09/12/49 SU 6096 8978
(Formerly listed as Remains of
Queen's Tower and fragments of
Fragment of Castle wall. Probably C13. Coursed squared limestone to south face;
knapped flint with stone dressings to north face. Approx. 6m. long and 6m. high.
History: Wallingford Castle was begun in 1067 by order of William the Conqueror;
supervised by Robert D'Oyley. Motte and Bailey castle completed in 1071. Castle
expanded in C13 under King John, and King Henry III, when it was held by
Richard, Earl of Cornwall. In 1307 the castle and town were given by Edward II
to Piers Gaveston, created Baron Wallingford. In 1335 Edward II gave the castle
to his son Edward, the Black Prince, Duke of Cornwall, who spent large sums on
repairs and improvements. Held during most of C15 by Chaucer and dela Pole
families of Ewelme. By 1540's the castle had fallen into disrepair and stone was
being used for other buildings in the town. During the Civil War it was
fortified as a Royalist stronghold. Charles I inspected the new works in 1643.
Siege of Wallingford in 1646 when Colonel Blagge was besieged for 16 weeks by
Cromwell's troops. On 17th November 1652 Cromwell's Council of State ordered its
demolition. This fragment probably formerd part of the Inner Bailey. The Castle
area is scheduled as an ancient monument.
("Wallingford Castle, a brief guide", 1984; V.C.H.: Berkshire, Vol.III, 1923,
p.523-531; Buildings of England: Berkshire, 1966, p.248).
Listing NGR: SU6096089780
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.