Description: Church of St Mary Le More
Date Listed: 9 December 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 249278
OS Grid Reference: SU6071289327
OS Grid Coordinates: 460712, 189327
Latitude/Longitude: 51.5995, -1.1248
Explore more of the area around Wallingford, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
WALLINGFORD MARKET PLACE
SU6089SE (South side)
11/115 Church of St. Mary-le-More
09/12/49 (Formerly listed as Parish
Church of St. Mary)
Church. Tower of c.1653, church of 1854 by David Brandon, with C20 restoration.
napped flint with stone dressings; flint and stone mixture with stone dressing
to tower; C20 plain-tile roof. 3-bay nave, 4-bay aisles, 3-bay chancel and west
tower. Early English-style. Plank door to 2-centred arched doorway with gabled
porch to left of centre of north aisle. 2-centre arched doorway to right of
chancel with plank door. Geometrical tracery windows to all openings except
3-light intersecting tracery window to left and end of north aisle. Tower has
octagonal corner turrets with C20 fibreglass replacement pinnacles.
Perpendicular 2-light stone mullioned louvred opening to each side of top of
tower, that to north obscured by clock face. Battlemented parapet. C20 refaced
stone stair turret to rear. Interior: C19 marble reredos and sanctuary area with
Salviati mosaic bands. Piscina and sedilia to right of chancel. Arch-braced roof
to chancel. Early C20 Perpendicular-style wood rood screen with painted carved
figures. Arch-braced roof to nave with 4-light dormers forming clerestory. Arch
braced roofs to aisles. Pulpit c.1888 of grey-veined white marble with bronze
panels of saints by Onslow Ford.
(V.C.H.: Berkshire, Vol.III, 1923, p.539; Buildings of England: Berkshire, 1966,
Listing NGR: SU6071289327
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.