Description: Priory Cottage
Date Listed: 6 August 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 251392
OS Grid Reference: SU4655891503
OS Grid Coordinates: 446558, 191503
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6204, -1.3289
Explore more of the area around Steventon, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
STEVENTON THE CAUSEWAY
SU4691 (South side)
12/78 Nos.123 (The Priory) and 127
06/08/52 (Priory Cottage)
(Formerly listed as No.123
Includes those parts formerly separately listed as Nos.125, 127 The Causeway and
No.1 (Priory Cottage) Mill Street.
Priory, now 3 dwellings. South-west block of c,l330; north-west block of c.1463;
hall of c.1500; service wing to hall of c.1550; late C16 range to east; with
later alterations. Irregular and large timber-framing, with some close-studding;
painted brick and rendered infill; complex old plain-tile roof; various brick
stacks: massive stone end stack to right with brick flues. Courtyard plan, with
wing to east. 2-storey, 7-window range with 2-storeys-and-attic cross-wing to
left. Plank door to right of centre with flat hood. 4-panel door to left of
centre with flat hood, 4-panel part-glazed door to end of cross-wing to left.
Irregular fenestration of casements and sashes except wood oriel window to
ground floor right, having wood mullion and transom windows and flanking 3-light
wood mullion windows. Wood oriel to first floor right, having wood mullion and
transom windows. Cross-gable to centre. Jettied cross-gable to right with
pendant bosses. Rear: part-encased in brick. Interior: false-hammer-beam roof
truss to hall with 2 tiers of curved wind braces, Massive stone fireplace to
hall. Crown-post roofs to west range and to west part of north range, Queen-post
roof to rest.. Some medieval wood arched doorways visible. History: priory from
1330, and on the site of earlier priory buildings and partly used as the manor.
("Smaller Domestic Architecture and Society in North Berkshire, c.l300-c.1650,
with special reference to Steventon" by C.R.J. Currie (Oxford Univ. Ph.D,thesis,
Listing NGR: SU4655891503
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.