Description: Buscot Park
Date Listed: 10 November 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 251481
OS Grid Reference: SU2430696829
OS Grid Coordinates: 424306, 196829
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6697, -1.6499
Explore more of the area around Buscot, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SU29NW Buscot Park
Country house. Built about 1780 for Edward Loveden Townsend, altered in the
1860s, altered and extended in 1889 and finally reduced in size and given E
and W Pavilions (q.v.) in 1934-6. No architects are recorded for the first
2 phases of building, but the 1889 extensions were made by Sir Ernest George
whose partner, Harold Peto, was landscaping the grounds at that time, and
the final phase of reconstruction was directed by Geddes Hyslop. This
reinstated the restrained classical lines of the original 1780 design.
Finely jointed ashlar, rusticated base, dentil cornice and a hipped slate
roof with E and W and ridge stone stacks. 3 storeys and attic, 9 bays. S
front of 9 bays with 2 dormers. The 3 centre bays have slight projection
and a pediment with carved floral enrichment, a wide flight of steps to
central glazed doors with cornice head at first floor level. Modern sashes
and blind boxes to all windows. The N front has 3 central bays flanked by
segmental bows of 3 windows each the whole height of the building. 7 dormer
windows. E and W fronts have 3 bay projections and pediments with
lunettes. The interiors were all redesigned and redecorated in the 1934-6
reconstruction in a mixed neo-Classical manner incorporating wine very fine
original C18 chimney-pieces. A series of paintings entitled 'the Briar
Rose' by Edward Burne Jones that were acquired for the Drawing Room by
Alexander Henderson in 1890 were installed under the artist's direction and
in specially designed frames in the Saloon where they still hang. Country
Life, 18, 25 May 1940; National Trust Guidebook to Buscot Park.
Listing NGR: SU2430696829
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.