Description: Church Mill
Date Listed: 12 September 1973
English Heritage Building ID: 252350
OS Grid Reference: SP3966403830
OS Grid Coordinates: 439664, 203830
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7318, -1.4271
Explore more of the area around Standlake, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
STANDLAKE DOWNS ROAD
SP3903 (East side)
23/266 Church Mill
12/09/73 (Formerly listed as Church
Mill and Barn)
Mill and millhouse, now farmhouse. Early/mid C18, with early C19 extension and
alterations. Coursed limestone rubble; gabled stone slate roof; brick left end
stack. Central-staircase plan. 2 storeys and attic; 3-window range. Segmental
brick arches over central C20 half-glazed door with C20 porch, C18 two-light
leaded casement to right, and C19 two-light casement flanked by early C19
eight-pane sashes on first floor; timber lintel over 10-pane sash left of door;
gabled roof dormer. Early C19 (c.1830) block to rear: of coursed limestone
rubble with gabled C20 tile roof and brick end stacks; of 2-storey, 3-window
range with flat stone arches over C19 half-glazed door and eight-pane sashes.
Interior not inspected but likely to be of interest. Mill to right: of coursed
limestone rubble, with brick bay, and gabled stone slate roof; late C19 and C19
casements, two C20 doors and 2 gabled roof dormers; noted as having mill wheel
inside. Probably built in 1726 for John Hodgkins,
(Brigadier F.R.L. Goadby and Standlake Local History Society, Standlake House
Survey, 1983, No.53).
Listing NGR: SP3966403830
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.