Description: Strange's Farmhouse
Date Listed: 13 June 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 252475
OS Grid Reference: SP3566916052
OS Grid Coordinates: 435669, 216052
Latitude/Longitude: 51.8419, -1.4837
Explore more of the area around Finstock, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
FINSTOCK HIGH STREET
SP3516 (North side)
16/34 No.30 (Strange's Farmhouse)
Farmhouse. Dated 1744, altered in the early to mid C19. Coursed limestone
rubble, with stone dressings to right. Stone slate roof. L-plan. Two storeys and
attic. Integral brick,end stacks. Two gabled dormers to left with 2-light wooden
casements. 2:1:1 bays; glazing bar sashes. Boxed sashes in 3 right-hand bays
with horns and segmental brick relieving arches. 16-pane sashes with stone cills
in right hand bay. Mid-C19 four-panelled door (beaded flush lower panels) with
margin-light rectangular overlight and doorcase with panelled pilaster strips
and shaped brackets supporting flat hood. Flush datestone to first floor between
second and third bays from left, inscribed "fill(love heart)E/1744". Two-storey
rear wing with integral brick end stack. Interior not inspected but noted as
having early C19 staircase, with stick balusters. Internal panelled window
shutters. The right hand bay was probably added in the early C19 (see different
sashes, stone dressings and possible straight joint).
Barn. C18. Roughly squared and coursed limestone rubble with stone dressings.
C20 machine tile roof. Three bays, at right angles to road. Central opposed cart
entrances, with roof swept down over short porch to north. Pair of C20
plywood-covered doors to north. Triangular-shaped vents in sides of western bay
and 3 in gable end to road. Interior has collar-and-tie-bean trusses. Included
for group value.
Listing NGR: SP3566916052
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.