Description: St Mary's Priory House
Date Listed: 3 March 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 252644
OS Grid Reference: SP3608609652
OS Grid Coordinates: 436086, 209652
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7844, -1.4783
Explore more of the area around Witney, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
8/90 The Priory and St. Mary's
Priory, now vicarage. c.1150-80; mainly c.1230-50; remodelled and reduced in
size c. 1600-20. Uncoursed limestone rubble; gabled stone slate roof; rear
lateral stack of stone finished in brick. Surviving C13 hall and services
remodelled as 2-unit plan with central passage in early C17. 2 storeys; two
blocks, including former hall to right, of 4-window range. Mid C13 pointed
lancet to right; hood moulds over narrow mid C17 sashes set in moulded stone
architraves; C20 door set in C17 pointed wall: hood moulds over mid Cl9
three-light window above early C17 cavetto-moulded stone-mullioned 4-light
window; C13 windows with dressed stone surrounds, one blocked. Interior: C13
hall to right has pointed chamfered rere-arches of former windows to front and
right; mid C13 common-rafter roof of very slight scantling with open notched-lap
joints to braced collars. Jowled post and some timber framing remains of C13
timber screen to left of hall and flanking service passage; rear of passage has
hollow-chamfered jambs of C13 door, with half-pyramid stops; 2 doorways with
chamfered stone jambs to rear. C17 stop-chamfered beams, and moulded stone
fireplace with spit rack to left. St. Mary's Priory House to right: built 1859.
Squared and coursed linestone; gabled stone slate roof; stone end stacks.
Double-depth plan. Elizabethan style. 2 storeys and attic; triple-gabled
3-window range. Canted bay window with sashes to right. Hood moulds over 2-light
stone-mullioned windows with narrow mid C19 sashes. Entry to rear, Interior not
inspected. History: The Priory was founded in 1103 as a daughter house of Fecamp
Abbey. The roof is similar to the C13 roof of poles and small timbers at The Old
Rectory, Standlake (q.v.).
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, p.551; J. Blair and J.M. Steane,
"Investigations at Cogges, Oxfordshire, 1978-81: The Priory and Parish Church",
0xanensia, Vol.47, (1982)).
Listing NGR: SP3608709650
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.