Description: Number 168 (The Old Parsonage) and Attached Wall
Date Listed: 12 September 1973
English Heritage Building ID: 252742
OS Grid Reference: SP4137212722
OS Grid Coordinates: 441372, 212722
Latitude/Longitude: 51.8116, -1.4013
Explore more of the area around Freeland, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
FREELAND WROSLYN ROAD
SP41SW (West side)
10/88 No.168 (The Old Parsonage) and
12/09/73 attached wall
Parsonage, now part of Convent of St. Clare. 1869-71, by J.L. Pearson. Coursed
limestone rubble with ashlar quoins and bands; half-hipped plain-tile roof;
stone ashlar stack to left. Double-depth plan. Gothic Arts and Crafts style. One
storey and attic; 5-window range, with 2 asymmetrical gabled bays to left.
Studded door with wrought-iron fittings set in double-chamfered pointed-arched
archway. 3 offset buttresses to bay divisions. Tympanum arches over 2-and
3-light transomed plate-tracery windows, with quatrefoil carvings in each
spandrel; 3-light stone-mullioned window above door, and gabled half-dormer with
similar wood-mullioned and transomed window to right. Remodelled roughcast block
to right. Half-timbering and stone-mullioned and transomed windows to rear.
One-storey gallery connected to Church of St. Mary (q.v.) on left. Interior:
wood-framed dog-leg staircase. Subsidiary features: approximately 5 metres of
limestone rubble wall with pointed arched doorway runs to Old Schoolhouse (q.v.)
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, p607)
Listing NGR: SP4137212722
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.