Description: The Coach House
Date Listed: 4 May 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 253485
OS Grid Reference: SP2336903806
OS Grid Coordinates: 423369, 203806
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7325, -1.6630
Explore more of the area around Filkins and Broughton Poggs, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SP2203-2303 FILKINS AND BROUGHTON POGGS BROUGHTON POGGS
11/174 The Coach House
Former coach house and stables for Broughton Hall, now house. Circa 1800,
re-using older features. Some C20 alterations. Squared and coursed limestone
with raised ashlar quoins; stone slate roofs; moulded gable copings with shaped
kneelers, the gable on stable range with carved stone urn finial. L-plan. Stable
range to east is of 2 storeys. Ground floor has 4 tall stone cross windows with
flat stone relieving arches above. Central board door with rectangular fanlight,
raised stone surround, and similar relieving arch. Upper storey has 3 old
2-light windows with chamfered stone mullions and diagonal leaded glazing.
Projecting to left is a 2-bay coach house range, now of one storey and attic.
Right return has depressed arches of dressed stone with keyblocks over former
coach entries, now blocked with C20 rubble walling and windows. C20 door in left
arch. Above are gabled eaves-line dormers with wooden cross casements, the upper
lights leaded. Included for group value.
Listing NGR: SP2336903806
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.