Description: Bradshaws Farmhouse with Attached Garden Wall
Date Listed: 12 September 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 253810
OS Grid Reference: SU2456999325
OS Grid Coordinates: 424569, 199325
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6921, -1.6459
Explore more of the area around Kelmscott, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
10/58 Bradshaws Farmhouse with
attached garden wall
(Formerly listed as Bradshaws
Farmhouse. Dated 1757 with C19 additions and alterations. Limestone ashlar front
with alternating chamfered angle quoins; roughly coursed and dressed rubble to
sides and rear. Hipped stone slate roof. Original L-plan with C19 addition in
angle to rear on right. 2 storeys on moulded chamfered plinth. Five-window
front, 2-light mullion windows in moulded architraves, those to first floor
directly below eaves, 2 to right of entrance on ground floor replaced by early
C19 tripartite glazing bar sash window reusing original mullions. Central
entrance; C18 pedimented doorcase with pulvinated frieze partly concealed by
early C19 stone pilastered porch with ogee arch to gable. 6-panel door with
raised oval and rectangular discs in fluted wood surround with plain rectangular
overlight. Initials "EB" in raised lettering and date "1757" scratched on lead
flashing of pediment. Integral axial stacks to back wall on left and right have
moulded dripstones and capping. Left return has cross window on each floor, that
to first floor infilled with brick. 2 cross windows with dripstones on each
floor to right return, those to right infilled with brick. C19 rubble stone
lean-to attached to short hip-roofed range at right-angles to rear on left and
C19 gabled range parallel to main range in angle to right (see straight joint).
Garden wall: attached to front corners of main range. Probably contemporary with
house. Roughly coursed limestone rubble with coping, ramped to angles. Interior.
Dog-leg staircase to central stone-flagged entrance hall has moulded handrail
and barleysugar balusters to open string. Raised and fielded panelling (c.1757)
in right ground-floor room, which also has contemporary moulded plaster ceiling
cornice and spine beam. C19 pilastered wood surround to fireplace. C18 moulded
stone surround to fireplace in left ground-floor room and 2 more to first
floor. Wide floor boards to first floor and attic, which has double-purlin
collar truss roof.
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire: p667)
Listing NGR: SU2456999325
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.