Description: The Great Almshouses
Date Listed: 12 September 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 254107
OS Grid Reference: SP2529212345
OS Grid Coordinates: 425292, 212345
Latitude/Longitude: 51.8092, -1.6345
Explore more of the area around Burford, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
BURFORD AND UPTON CHURCH LANE
AND SIGNET (East Side)
SP2512 (Enlargement) The Great Almshouses.
Also known as, and shown on map as, Warwick Almshouses. Mid C15, restored
(and altered) 1828. Coursed rubble, Cotswold stone roof; 2 storeys,
coped verge string over 1st floor. Coped verge to right, 2 rubble
chimneys. 4 windows, 2-light lancet type with foiled heads, labels to
ground floor windows and ferramenta, 2 low Tudor arch doors with labels
and a central one with traceried spandrels and label. Outer slightly
raised Tudor arch doorways (blocked) with labels.
Tablet over central doorway inscribed "These almshouses were founded by
Richard Earl of Warwick in the year 1457 and were rebuilt in the year
1828." Blocked doorway to right of this. L-plan wings to rear. J
Sherwood & N Pevsner Buildings of England: Oxford (1974). R & M Moody:
The Story of Burford (1983). R H Gretton: The Burford Records (1920).
Listing NGR: SP2529212345
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.