Description: West Block (Former Stable), Redlynch Park House
Date Listed: 28 November 1980
English Heritage Building ID: 261646
OS Grid Reference: ST6993933078
OS Grid Coordinates: 369939, 133078
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0962, -2.4306
Explore more of the area around Bruton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
5/196 West Block
former stable), Redlynch Park
Stables, Coach House and Servants' Wing; formerly one of two matching; First half C18, modified 1913; built by
Nathaniel Ireson of Wincanton for Lord llchester. Local stone cut and squared with Doulting stone dressings; hipped
Welsh slate roof with stone slate base courses, behind parapets on South and East faces; red brick chimney stacks.
'U'-plan; 2 storeys with attics, South facade of 11 bays, of which the outer pairs project slightly. Plinth, lower cill
course, eaves band course and panelled solid parapets, rusticated quoins; 12-pane casement windows, top halves
pivotted, to ground floor, including bay 6, formerly a doorway, all set in plain ashlar surrounds with flat triple
keystoned heads; above 6-light sash windows in plain surrounds; clock tower to centre of roof with lead covered cuboid
base, clock dial on South, with octagonal lead roofed timber bill turret open on 4 main faces, surmounted by small
windvane; lead rainwater stackheads, one on East side dated 1902. Windows on West face have simple frames, cruciform
below, with almost square leaded panes - probably original form; to first floor at North end plain door and hoisting
tackle above; similar leaded windows to inner courtyard. Interiors not accessible. Block undergoing conversion to
flats, (October 1983).
Listing NGR: ST6993933078
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.