Description: Eastham's Gate Farmhouse
Date Listed: 18 December 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 262411
OS Grid Reference: ST4562410652
OS Grid Coordinates: 345624, 110652
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8928, -2.7745
Explore more of the area around Merriott, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST41SE MERRIOTT CP YEOVIL ROAD (North side)
3/161 Eastham's Gate Farmhouse
Former toll house, now farmhouse. Early C19 extended later C19. Ham stone cut and squared; hipped Welsh slate roofs,
with plain gable to rear extension; brick chimney stacks. Two storeys, 2-bay roadside elevation, of which bay 1 is a
double chamfered projection. Pointed arched windows with 'Y'-traceried casements diamond leaded, with 3 windows to
first floor in bay 1, and 2 on the chamfered faces ground floor: to left of upper bay 2 a segmental-arched recesss with
sill, probably for the toll-charge board; to ground floor centre bay 1 signs of a blocked doorway with shallow-pitched
roofed porch. South-west side elevation has signs of similar blocked doorway and a blocked window above. Rear extension
of single bay having 6-pane sash windows, and to right a studded boarded C20 door set in late C19 open porch.
North-east elevation has matching sash windows in the extension, and two lean-to buildings. Interior not seen. This
section of the old London-Exeter Road was turnpiked by the Chard Trust in 1753, but was transferred to the smaller
Crewkarne Trust in 1825: the road immediately north-east was diverted in 1831, and this toll house probably dates from
this period (Bentley B.J and Murless J.B, Somerset Roads, SIAS, 1985).
Listing NGR: ST4562410652
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.