Description: Former Poor House, at Rear of Chapel Cottage
Date Listed: 16 August 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 262711
OS Grid Reference: ST5739319852
OS Grid Coordinates: 357393, 119852
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9765, -2.6082
Explore more of the area around Mudford, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST51NE MUDFORD CP MAIN STREET (West side)
6/96 Former Poor House, at rear of
Poor House, now being converted into 2 houses (April 1983). Dated 1817.
Red brick, English Garden wall bond; plain clay tile roof between coped
gables; brick end chimney stacks. 2-storeys, 4-bays. Tall 15-pane
casement upper windows bays 1 and 2 with blocked openings under, then
small pane upper casement window bays 3 and 4 of 2-lights, with lower
3-light casement bay 4; two entrance doors bays 3 and 4 now enclosed by
C20 porches. Incised Ham stone plaque between upper windows bays 3 and 4
gives date 1817, rebuilt, and names of churchwardens and builder. Of
good group value and of considerable local historical interest.
Listing NGR: ST5739119863
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.