Description: Manor Farm House
Date Listed: 19 April 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 262716
OS Grid Reference: ST5774718897
OS Grid Coordinates: 357747, 118897
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9679, -2.6031
Explore more of the area around Mudford, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST51NE MUDFORD CP PRIMROSE LAKE (off)
6/106 Manor Farm House
Manor house. 1630 with earlier and later parts. Ham stone ashlar, with
extensions in coursed rubble and Mudford brick; concrete imitation stone
slates, after fire damage circa 1915, stone chimney stacks. 2 storeys
with attic; South front of 4 bays with one-bay extension to bay-1, with
6+2-light hollow chamfer mullioned windows, and corbelled attic gable
with 4-light windows, and ball finials to crown and end of coping.
4-light hollow chamfer windows bays 2 and 4, and a 3-light to bay 3 over
a rebuilt doorway; boarded door with architrave and flat moulded hood on
console brackets, with cuboid sundial over similar to that of St Mary's
Church Mudford (qv) - door knocker, now removed, was dated 1730.
2-storey brick extension in English bond with 4-light mullioned window;
later extension in squared rubble to rear. On site of a cell used by
monks of Montacute Abbey, developed into house in 1630 by John Harbin;
at one time the Courthouse was in its grounds. (Francis Goulding,
Ashington, Chilton Cantelo, Mudford: the Story of Three Somerset
Listing NGR: ST5774718897
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.