Description: Stembridge Mill
Date Listed: 7 February 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 263124
OS Grid Reference: ST4328230517
OS Grid Coordinates: 343282, 130517
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0712, -2.8109
Explore more of the area around High Ham, Somerset at Explore Britain.
HIGH HAM CP WINDMILL ROAD (South side)
2/59 Stembridge Mill
Windmill. 1822. Local lias stone roughly coursed; shaped thatched roof with plain gable over weatherboarded
superstructure; wood sail frames. Circular plan. On north side, boarded door in heavy frame, up 4 steps, with a lower
door in east face and a smaller door on south face; small casement windows on east side. Former bakery building to
rear. Inside, four floors, and incomplete gear which once drove two pairs of stones: fireplace in lowest floor, the
flue carried in wall to an outlet just below the cap. The mill stopped working by wind in 1897, and steam power was
introduced; the drive shaft and gears are still in place; the French stones have balance weight pockets let into
plaster backs, patented by Clark and Dunham in 1859. On the meal floor, below the stone floor, is a wire machine for
dressing flour. The only surviving windmill in Somerset, it is the only thatched mill left in England. Acquired by
National Trust in 1969, partly restored by them, further work in hand October 1984 (Watts, M: Somerset Windmills,
Agraphicus, 1975; Couthard A J and Watts M, Windmills of Somerset and the men who worked them, - 1978).
Listing NGR: ST4328230517
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.