Description: The Old School House, and the Beeches
Date Listed: 7 February 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 263131
OS Grid Reference: ST4240926734
OS Grid Coordinates: 342409, 126734
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0371, -2.8227
Explore more of the area around Huish Episcopi, Somerset at Explore Britain.
HUISH EPISCOPI CP THE HILL (North side)
11/70 The Old School House, and the
Former teachers' houses to National School. 1827. Local lias stone rubble, Ham stone dressings; plain clay tile roof
with bracketted eaves and highly ornamented bargeboards to gable overhangs; brick chimney stacks. Two storeys. East
elevation - Old School House - of 3 bays with single- storey extension to north; bay 2 projects and is gabled.
Chamfered mullioned 2-light windows with 4-centre arched lights, framing cast iron lattice casements under square
labels, the upper windows to outer bays have ornamental gablets over; pointed-arched single-light windows upper bay 2
over shaped door, part glazed, in moulded cambered arched doorway with square label. West elevation - The Beeches -
also 3 bays; bay 1 projects, with ornamental gable, 3-light mullioned window below and 2-light above: single light
upper bay 2, tucked under eaves, and below moulded cambered archway with pair part-glazed shaped doors under lean-to
porch hood of timber with Welsh slate. Two bay street elevation to catch, of which bay 2 projects. Interiors not seen.
Seemingly unspoilt examples of later cottage ornee style. The school was located nearby; it opened in 1827, closed
circa 1876 and was demolished by 1903. (VCH, Vol III, 1974).
Listing NGR: ST4240726732
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.