Description: The Town Hall
Date Listed: 17 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 263167
OS Grid Reference: ST4194226789
OS Grid Coordinates: 341942, 126789
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0375, -2.8294
Explore more of the area around Langport, Somerset at Explore Britain.
LANGPORT CP CHEAPSIDE (North side)
10/102 The Town Hall
(Club on O.S Map). Town and market hall, 1732/33. Red brick, Flemish bond, with Ham stone ashlar and dressings; hipped
pyramidal Welsh slate roof with timber bell turret. Two storeys, 3 bays. Open arcade to covered market below: all
ashlar, with semi-circular arches having plinth, square columns and end piers, moulded imposts, keystoned arch
architraves; across this a band course; then rusticated stone quoins to brickwork, with moulded stone eaves course;
12-pane sash windows in architraved surrounds with keystoned flat arches, and console bracketted cills; projecting
clock from eaves above centre window; lead stackhead on right C19; ironwork grilles and gates to arches; inside, the
undercroft has 2 central Doric stone columns, and the rear wall has corresponding arches with 2 pairs fielded panel
gates and overthrows. First floor not seen. Erected on a loan from the Portreeve 1732, dated 1733 on the weathervane, a
strong-room added and the kitchen improved 1836; after dissolution of the Corporation in 1886 the hall was used for
local functions, and is now maintained by the Langport Town Trust (Club refers to temporary usage by the Royal British
Legion, now located next door). (VCH, vol III, 1974).
Listing NGR: ST4194226789
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.