Description: The Hanging Chapel
Date Listed: 17 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 263183
OS Grid Reference: ST4233026747
OS Grid Coordinates: 342330, 126747
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0372, -2.8239
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, The Hanging Chapel and a Medieval Gateway at the Hill, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Langport, Somerset at Explore Britain.
LANGPORT CP THE HILL
The Hanging Chapel
Gateway spanning road with chapel over, latter now Masonic Lodge. C13 origins, mostly C15 work restored in C19. Local
lias stone roughly cut and squared, Ham stone dressings; chapel has plain clay tiled roof between coped gables with
ball finials. Gateway plain, with chamfered pointed arches to ends of through vault, with one small niche in each side
wall of throughway; one buttress on east side; coped parapet all round to encircle walkway. Chapel apparently much
restored, the east gable being rebuilt over a 3-light semi- circular arched window with possibly C18 tracery; chapel
has angled corner buttresses, and in west wall a moulded pointed arched doorway without label. Extensions on south side
of C19/C20, in stone with flat roof. C19 approach stairs in south west corner, with C20 handrail, up to 3-centre arched
doorway set in archway wall. On north side, against gateway wall in garden of east Gate (qv) a small storehouse in lias
stone, in a C12 style. Interior of chapel not accessible normally. Originally Chantry Chapel of Blessed Virgin Mary,
mentioned 1344, became Town Hall 1596-1600, Langport Grammar School 1706-c1790, then an arms store, a Sunday School,
and private uses until it was leased as a Masonic Lodge in 1891. Scheduled Ancient Monument (Somerset No. 273). (VCH,
vol III, 1974).
Listing NGR: ST4214226699
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.