Description: Stuckeys House
Date Listed: 17 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 263216
OS Grid Reference: ST4693225359
OS Grid Coordinates: 346932, 125359
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0251, -2.7580
Explore more of the area around Long Sutton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
LONG SUTTON CP THE GREEN (East side)
12/150 Stuckeys House
(formerly listed as The Green)
Detached house. Dated 1782. Local lias stone cut and squared, but facade of red brick in English bond with Ham stone
dressings; plain clay tiled roof between stepped coped gables; brick end chimney stacks. Two storeys, 3 bays. Casement
windows, 3-light below and 2-light above, with iron framed opening lights and rectangular leaded panes; gauged brick
flat arched heads with central keystones; at eaves level between bays 1 and 2 a moulded stone plaque inscribed "M/WH
1782": to bay 2 a C20 timber, glazed and tile porch protecting a 6-panel door with glazed toplights. Single-storey C20
lean-to on north side incorporating an early stairlight window in gable over casement window. Interior considerably
modified in C20. The Stuckey family, prominent C29 Somerset bankers, owned this house in the earlier C20.
Listing NGR: ST4693225359
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.