Description: The Friend's Meeting House
Date Listed: 17 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 263241
OS Grid Reference: ST4671025923
OS Grid Coordinates: 346710, 125923
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0302, -2.7613
Explore more of the area around Long Sutton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
LONG SUTTON CP LANGPORT ROAD (South side)
12/175 The Friend's Meeting House
Quaker Meeting House. Dated 1717. Local lias stone ashlar, Ham stone dressings; hipped Welsh slate roof laid in
diminishing courses, over stone slate base courses. Single storey with gallery along east side; 3 bays by one bay.
Plinth, string course above windows, timber eaves course: north elevation has 18-pane sash windows with thick glazing
bars and panelled external shutters, set in plain Ham stone surrounds; to bay 1 a pair of ornamental fielded panel
doors in very heavy moulded frame under segmental leap-covered timber hood, which could be early C20; over centre
window small square plaque with hood mould, inscribed "Ex Dono/ Willm Steell/Anno Dom/1717". South elevation a mirror
image of the north. east elevation has 2 windows, that to ground floor set lower, being a 12-pane sash under label
mould, with shutters; above an 18-pane sash window set directly under eaves course and cutting through string course,
again with shutters. West elevation has high window only, below which is a C20 flat-roofed lean-to. Interior completely
unaltered: through passage on east side, under gallery, with fielded panelling as partition to meeting room proper and
as stair enclosure; balustered staircase, stone flag floor: gallery above plain, screened from meeting room by fielded
panelling with sliding shutters. Meeting room severely plain: unadorned plasterwork with rounded cove to ceiling; two
cast iron column props inserted under gallery beam; pine plank floor, raised along west wall, which has panelled
dado; elm benches, many of which appear to be original; several windows have crown glass panes. Friends' meeting held
in the parish by 1662, and there was a licensed meeting-house by 1669. It was closed briefly in 1793 and 1798, but
prospered after the closure of the Somerton meeting house in 1828. (VCH, Vol III, 1974; Little, B; 'A Village of Tudors
and Quakers'; Country Life 17-10-1968).
Listing NGR: ST4671025923
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.