Description: Pair of Gate Piers with Gates, Immediately South East of East Lodge, Compton Castle
Date Listed: 24 March 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 263342
OS Grid Reference: ST6517726108
OS Grid Coordinates: 365177, 126108
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0333, -2.4980
Explore more of the area around Compton Pauncefoot, Somerset at Explore Britain.
COMPTON PAUNCEFOOT CP
Pair of gate piers with gates,
immediately south-east of East
Lodge, Compton Castle
Pair gate piers. Circa 1825. Cary and Doulting stone. Circular piers about 600 mm diameter, plain plinth on square
base; thin moulded top with 2 rounded steps terminating in Gothick style crocketted finials: between then a pair of
wrot-iron gates with barbed spear-points to top rails, which have sweeps up at outside edges, and to mioile rails,
which are scroll-ornamented. The gates important to the setting of East Lodge (qv) and part of an old estate known as
Compton Lodge, reformed as Compton Castle in 1825 by Mr Hussey Hunt.
Listing NGR: ST6517726108
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.