Description: The Stable Block About 30 Metres North West of Compton Castle
Date Listed: 24 March 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 263368
OS Grid Reference: ST6468025711
OS Grid Coordinates: 364680, 125711
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0297, -2.5050
Explore more of the area around Compton Pauncefoot, Somerset at Explore Britain.
COMPTON PAUNCEFOOT CP
The stable block, about 30 m
north-west of Compton Castle
(formerly listed as Stabling at
Stables and coach house. Circa 1820. By Finden of Bath for Mr Hussey Hunt. Ham stone ashlar; stone slate and Welsh
slate roofs behind coped gables. U-plan, single storey; south elevation of 5 bays, of which bays 1 and 5 are projecting
gables. Pairs of pointed arched doorways bays 1 and 5, the former adapted for garage use with central column removed;
3-light chamfer mullioned windows with labels bays 2 and 4, and to centre bay a 3-stage tower, with cambered arched
doorway stage one, no string above; clock in mullioned window stage 2, then castellated parapet - tower square to this
level; to stage 3 tower of reduced plan sire with chamfered courses, 2-light window under square label, and
battlemented parapet, surmounted by pyramidal roof with weathervane. Interior not seen. Part of the large landscaped
estate of Compton Castle (qv) and an important element in the setting of that building.
Listing NGR: ST6468025711
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.