Description: Ashford House
Date Listed: 4 February 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 263967
OS Grid Reference: ST3567118959
OS Grid Coordinates: 335671, 118959
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9664, -2.9174
Explore more of the area around Ilton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ILTON CP ASHFORD LANE
3/64 Ashford House
(formerly listed as
House with Forecourt wall and
Detached house. Dated 1703, probably a rebuilding of C17 work. Red brick, Flemish bond, with Ham stone kneelers and copings; thatched roof between coped gables; brick end and intermediate chimney stacks. Two storeys with attics; 6-bay irregular fenestration. Stone plinth, saw-tooth dentilled band course between floors with semi-circular relieving arches over ground floor openings: casement windows of early patterns, mostly 3-light, with rectangular-leaded panes, some iron-framed opening lights, timber lintels over all windows: bay 1 has single window above and 2 below; bay 2 has a double-depth upper window, with nothing below; the window to upper bay 5 is set lower to light the staircase, blank below: to lower bay 3 a boarded door on heavy frame with wirework porch. West gable has bandwork course, and C20 door, small C20 casement to first floor and 4-light leaded attic casement, above which,is a plaque with ovolo-mould surround inscribed '-B 1703', Rear elevation similar in character, but west bay has a C20 bay window below in an old opening, then 4,4,2 and single-light hollow chamfer mullioned windows below, with doorway opposite front door; above band course and relieving arches, and leaded casement windows. East window has a lean-to below, and the attic has two leaded windows, one a larger 3-light casement, the other smaller with a chamfered timber mullion. Interior only partly seen, but reported is a through-passage, 3-rood plan , with narrow north-facing rooms added during the rebuilding: chamfered beams with almost scroll-stops, wattle and daub partitioning; bacon curing chamber with east gable fireplace, and this room also has an early C19 built-in dresser fitment about the length of one wall; stone fireplace backing onto hall with double-ovolo moulding: roof frame not examined. An early dated complete use of brick in this area; similar work in this and Ashill C.P. may be up to 40 years earlier, but with stone as the lain structural element and the brick used almost decoratively.
Listing NGR: ST3567118959
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.