Description: Twinney Bridge
Date Listed: 22 April 1981
English Heritage Building ID: 264035
OS Grid Reference: ST3629316526
OS Grid Coordinates: 336293, 116526
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9446, -2.9082
Explore more of the area around Whitelackington, Somerset at Explore Britain.
3/143 Twinney Bridge
(formerly listed uncer Civil
Parish of Ilminster Without)
Road bridge over stream. 1834, designed by Richard Carver, County Architect and Surveyor, built by R. Mears. Lias stone
cut and squared, Ham stone dressings. Stilted semi-circular arch of 3 metre span, ashlar voussoirs, vermiculated
keystone; band course at road level; shallow flat-topped parapet with plain chunky coping, with square piers to each
corner. This bridge and Cocks Bridge (q.v) were constructed for 375 pounds sterling (Bentley, JB and Murless, B.J,
Somerset Roads, SIAS, 1985).
Listing NGR: ST3629316526
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.