Description: Half Moon Cottage
Date Listed: 22 May 1969
English Heritage Building ID: 264781
OS Grid Reference: ST0733737469
OS Grid Coordinates: 307337, 137469
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1290, -3.3256
Explore more of the area around Monksilver, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST03NE MONKSILVER CP FRONT STREET (East side)
5/24 Half Moon Cottage
(formerly listed as Birds Hill
Cottage, formerly an inn. Late medieval in origin, altered late C16 and C17. Rendered over rubble facade, colourwashed
random rubble left return with raking buttresses, large brick stack above entry and left gable end. Plan: open hall
house ceiled to 3 cell with lobby entry, single cell addition centre rear. 2 storeys, projecting bay left lit only by
small moulded opening, first floor steeply chamfered wooden 2-light casement left, others 2-and 3-light leaded
casements, groundfloor 2- and 4- light casements left of entrance, 4-light to right, good imported C17 door, gabled
thatched rustic porch. Interior not viewed, said to contain at North end fireplace with scroll stops to lintel, blocked
stairway to left with oven behind and large circular chamber to right of fireplace with corbelled stone roof,
presumably a corn drying or bacon curing chamber. Chamfered beams with enriched stops and 4 pair of jointed crucks.
This building was recorded as the Ram Inn in 1675 and by 1785 was known as the Half Moon Inn, but ceased to be an inn
circa 1860 when the Notley Arms (qv) was built. (VCH Somerset, Vol 5, forthcoming; VAG Report, unpublished SRO,
Listing NGR: ST0733737469
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.