Description: Church of St Mary the Virgin
Date Listed: 22 May 1969
English Heritage Building ID: 264787
OS Grid Reference: ST0568337749
OS Grid Coordinates: 305683, 137749
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1312, -3.3493
There is also a scheduled monument, Cross in the Churchyard of St Mary the Virgin's Church, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Nettlecombe, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST03NE NETTLECOMBE CP
5/29 Church of St Mary the Virgin
(previously listed as Church of
Parish church. C13-C14, West tower rebuilt mid C15, South aisle rebuilt late C15, porch and North aisle circa 1536,
North chapel 1531-4, church restored circa 1820-1, clerestory added, chancel altered and vestry added 1858 and 1870.
Architects, early C19 Richard Carver, later work by C E 6iles under direction of James Babbage. Red sandstone random
rubble, squared and coursed on vestry and chancel, slate roofs, coped verges. West tower, clerestoried 4 bay nave,
North and South aisles, North porch, chancel with North chapel, South vestry with organ chamber. Crenellated 3-stage
tower, diagonal buttresses, gargoyles, 2-light louvred bell openings, clock face West front, 3-light West window,
moulded arched West door, octagonal crenellated stair turret North-west corner. 2-light window West end of South aisle,
similar 2-light in outer bays flanking 2 gabled projections lit by quatrefoil openings, 2-light East end of aisle with
C13 hexagonal coffin lid with raised cross inset to South, trefoil headed lancet lighting rood loft, C19 arched door
and 2-light window to vestry, lancet to chancel and 3-light East window also C19, 4-light cinquefoil headed hollow
chamfered mullioned window under hood mould East end of chapel, stepped buttresses to East and North fronts, North
front similar 3- and 2-light mullioned windows with 4-light windows flanking gabled single storey porch, moulded arched
entrance, open wagon roof, moulded 4-centred arch doorway, C19 decorative spandrels, C19 door, 3-light window West end
North aisle. Interior: rendered. Victorian open timber roofs, except for C16 wagon roof vault in South aisle. Victorian
chancel arch, tower arch chamfered in 3 orders. Standard Perpendicular arcades with foliage capitals, similar 2-bay
arcade between chancel and chapel. Norman style 2-light clerestory windows to nave. Recesses with rib vaulting and
corbel heads in South aisle containing effigies presumed to be of Sir John Ralegh and his first wife Maud, mid C14, and
the other a chain mail knight of circa 1260, reset C19. Black and white marble wall tablet to Lady Trevelyan, died
1697, another by T King of Bath to John Oatway with a sorrowing figure beside an urn. Tomb slab in South aisle to John
Trevelyan, died 1623. Large tomb slab resting against wall in west tower to Richard Musgrave, died 1686, fine
lettering. Screen to West end dated 1848, gallery above with sore reset C16 panelling. 4 bay rood screen, late C15
restored C19. Good late C15 octagonal font carved with The Seven Sacrments. Some C16 bench ends reset. Pre-Reformation
altar slab. Late C17 carved pedestal pulpit. C17 stained glass. (VCH Somerset, vol 5, forthcoming; Photographs in NMR;
SANHS Proceedings, 1916 and 1934).
Listing NGR: ST0568237750
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.