Date Listed: 21 December 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 265037
OS Grid Reference: ST0551840284
OS Grid Coordinates: 305518, 140284
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1540, -3.3523
Explore more of the area around Williton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST04SE WILLITON CP
Farmhouse, now house. C16, enlarged C17 and again early C19. Roughcast over random rubble, slate roof, overhanging
eaves, soffit board, decorative ridge tiles, large brick stack rising left from eaves of cross wing, brick stack
between first and second bays right at gable end of original dwelling, other stacks at rear. Plan: modified 3 cell and
cross passage facing South, enlarged one bay right and extended at rear (North East), cross wing addition left (South
west) with 2 gabled additions at rear forming part of courtyard. 2 storeys, unlit gable end of cross wing right, 4:1
bays main block, 16 pane sash window on re-entrant angle left, two 12 pane sash window right, many paned sliding sash
French windows end bay right, entrance third bay left, panelled door with pentice hood porch on shaped brackets. Right
return gable end, wooden trellis-work porch, to right of 12 pane sash window, external flight of stairs to panelled
door with fluted surround. Interior: the original entrance appears to have been one bay right, cross passage removed so
now 2 cell with addition right, left gable end fireplace large chamfered lintel with scroll stops, chamfered stone
jambs, right gable end ovolo moulded lintel with chamfered stone jambs, chamfered lintel to open fireplace in rear
wing, winder stairs to left, octagonal mullioned window frame in courtyard. The discovery at Bardon in 1834 of papers
relating to the trial of Mary Queen of Scots is attributed to the fact that the Manor was held in the C16 by the Leigh
family, who were lawyers by profession. (VCH Somerset, Vol 5, forthcoming; VAG Report, unpublished SRO, March 1981).
Listing NGR: ST0551840284
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.