Church of St Peter, Exton
Description: Church of St Peter
Date Listed: 6 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 265436
OS Grid Reference: SS9258433706
OS Grid Coordinates: 292584, 133706
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0926, -3.5352
Location: Lype Lane, Exton, Somerset TA22 9JT
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Cross in the Churchyard of St Peter's Church, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Exton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
SS93SW EXTON CP EXTON VILLAGE
19/23 Church of St Peter
Parish church. Some Norman work in nave, C13 tower, C15 aisle, refenestrated early C16, church restored and chancel
rebuilt 1876, tower restoration dated 1928. Random rubble local slate, tower and west end of aisle pebbledash, slate
and asbestos slate roofs, decorative ridge tiles, coped verges. West tower, 3-bay nave and north aisle, south porch
chancel. Crenellated 2-stage tower, diagonal buttresses to second stage, north-west buttress with date 1928, lancet
bell opening, wooden louvred opening south face with lancet below, no west door; 3-light cinquefoil-headed mullioned
windows, except in chancel, one on either side of single storey, gabled porch, unbuttressed, moulded arch openings, C19
door, flat bedded chequer board pattern slate floor, trefoil-headed statue niche above door, slate tablet inscribed to
Ann Norris, died 1717 opposite; chancel, chamfered pointed arch priest's door, 2-light window right, 3-light east
window, north aisle lit east end and 3 windows on north front, blocked central opening between large slate topped
buttresses. Interior: rendered, quoins to window openings and tower arch exposed, standard Perpendicular 3-bay arcade,
unmoulded chancel arch with chamfered jambs, pointed tower arch. C19 collar beam roof with struts in chancel, nave and
aisle remains of earlier ceiled wagon roof, now open, new bosses in nave. Hagioscope in north aisle wall. Reredos of
glass mosaic c 1890. Medieval tiles set along altar step. Pulpit of C18-C19 panelling reset. Perpendicular font.
Stained glass: east window by Lavers, Barrand and Westlake dated 1886, south chancel window with portraits of the
doners, one died 1867. Fine painted and gilded wooden panel to Rose Pearse, died 1712 and her husband Robert, died
1732, with painted cherubs, skulls and flowers; black and white wall tablet to Martha Williams died 1826, by Lancaster
and Walker of Bristol. (Pevsner, Buildings of England, South and West Somerset, 1958).
Listing NGR: SS9258433706
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.