Description: Fountain House
Date Listed: 22 July 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 266178
OS Grid Reference: ST7710948279
OS Grid Coordinates: 377109, 148279
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2332, -2.3292
Explore more of the area around Frome, Somerset at Explore Britain.
5363 GOULDS GROUND
(South East side)
GV Fountain House
ST 7748 SW 4/69 22.7.49 (formerly listed
under Trinity Parade)
Once the parsonage for Holy Trinity Church (from 1856 till recently). Built 1818,
house of character. Main front to north-east. Ashlar with slate roof. Centre 3
storeys, sides 2 storeys, divided by pilasters. Central 2 storey 3-light bow.
1:3:1 windows, glazing bar sashes. Ground floor side windows in arched recesses.
Pedimented attic over central unit and balustraded parapet over sides (now in
artificial stone). string at 1st floor level. Moulded cornice.
Road front: 2 windows and large 2 storey angled bay to right. Cornice and parapet
(with baluster panels over windows). Hipped cross wing over bay.
Roughly central glazed porch with Tuscan columns, half glazed door (2 lower panels
reeded). Rubble wall, formerly of outhouse, to right with Tudor-arch doorway
(c.1840) with drip and panelled spandrels.
Interior: room on ground floor to south-east has segment-arched recess with edge-
ball decoration and panelled soffit. Bay window room on ground floor has a
similar recess. Attic fireplace has tracery panelled surround and tracery moulded
onto cheeks of contemporary grate.
Listing NGR: ST7710948279
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.