Description: Her Majestys Prison and Perimeter Wall
Date Listed: 21 September 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 266490
OS Grid Reference: ST6212643639
OS Grid Coordinates: 362126, 143639
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1907, -2.5433
Explore more of the area around Shepton Mallet, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST6243 SHEPTON MALLET CP CORN HILL (South side)
7/92 HM Prison and perimeter wall
Prison. Originally built 1610, new buildings 1818-1819 by George Allen Underwood, major alterations 1830, 1843 and 1848
by Richard Carver. Render, rusticated to ground floor, slate hipped roof, wide eaves. Austere classical facade.
4-storeys, 3-bays, sashes with glazing bars in segmental headed stone architraves with emphasised keystones. Central
doorway, plain stone surround with moulded cornice above, entrance now blocked. Plain stone band below first floor
windows, moulded band above those to third floor. Massive ashlar gateway to right side having square head door opening
with moulded jambs, cut stone brackets supporting cornice directly above, all set in larger elaborately moulded stone
architrave with semi-circular head incorporating barred fanlight. Late C20 double doors. To left side 3-storey wing of
1-bay, blocked semi-circular headed archway to ground floor, narrow barred windows in plain stone architraves above.
Further 4-storey wing of 3-bays to its left with similar fenestration. Rubble 8 metre high wall running to left and
right sides along Gaol Lane and Frithfield Lane enclosing perimiter of prison compound. House of Correction until 1884
when it became the County Gaol.
Listing NGR: ST6212643639
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.