Description: Park House
Date Listed: 11 March 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 266792
OS Grid Reference: ST7132248682
OS Grid Coordinates: 371322, 148682
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2366, -2.4121
Explore more of the area around Mells, Somerset at Explore Britain.
3/93 Park House
(previously listed as Park House
with adjoining out-buildings)
Country house. Circa 1925, incorporating service court of C18 house, by Sir Edwin Lutyens for Reginald McKenna. Bath
stone ashlar, coved eaves cornice, stone slate roof, 3 squared ashlar off ridge stacks. "U"-plan, mannerist classicism.
2-storeys and basement, 7-bays; corner Tuscan pilasters and plaster between each bay; sashes with glazing bars in
reveals with slightly emphasised keystones, around floor openings with moulded sills, openings on first floor have
rectangular block-like projections directly below them. Central door opening has moulded stone architrave incorporating
Gibbs surround, above pulvinated frieze, broken pediment with large projecting "key", three-quarter glazed door.
Returns of 4-bays. To rear, wings enclose cloistered quadrangle incorporating some retains of the earlier house;
elliptical headed archways on ground floor, above window openings, those to east blank; further door opening in Gibbs
surround, three-quarter glazed door. Interior has plasterwork, panelling, doors and fireplaces by Sir Herbert Jekyll.
Listing NGR: ST7132248682
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.