Description: Former Village Reading Room
Date Listed: 11 March 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 266936
OS Grid Reference: ST7445441081
OS Grid Coordinates: 374454, 141081
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1684, -2.3667
Explore more of the area around Witham Friary, Somerset at Explore Britain.
S174SW WITHAM FRIARY CP
6/238 Former Village Reading Room
Former village reading room, once dovecot, now store. Circa 1300, attached to Carthusian Priory, substantially
remodelled and restored by Gill in 1900 for the Duke of Somerset. Local limestone rubble, squared quoins, diagonal 2
stage buttresses, plain tile roof with bellcast and parapets, brick stack to left. Rectangular, Tudoresque gabled
facade. 3 window height, though interior unfloored, one bay, 5-light chamfered stone mullions window to first floor,
above, small square attic light. Central door opening, chamfered segmental headed stone surround, plank door, strap
hinges with Art Noveau motif. Tall 2-light mullion and transom window in left return. Single storey pent roofed outshut
to right side. Interior contains traces of pigeon holes, and fireplace of the restoration, being a copy of that at the
Charterhouse of Mount Grace in Yorkshire.
Listing NGR: ST7445441081
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.