Description: School House
Date Listed: 16 November 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 267381
OS Grid Reference: ST7903744113
OS Grid Coordinates: 379037, 144113
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1959, -2.3014
Explore more of the area around Selwood, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST74SE SELWOOD CP
9/434 School House
Former school and attached schoolhouse, now dwelling. Circa 1880, possibly by J. L. Pearson. Plinth, coursed and
squared rubble, slate roof, coped verges, 3 rubble stacks, 2 capped by a pair of diagonally set ashlar stacks.
Domestic Revival. West front of two storeys 1:2 bays, 3-light chamfered stone-mullioned window to first floor of left
bay, each light with a 4-centred head, stopped label; canted bay to ground floor, similar 3-light opening to front,
single light opening to each side, hipped roof. Right 2 bays set forward slightly, single light openings in chamfered
stone surrounds, those to ground floor with pointed heads under stopped labels. Door opening in right return, plank
door. Single storey wing to left, 4-light canted bay in left return, again each light with a 4-centred head. Single
storey, 4 bay former school room at right angles to rear, tall 2-light stone-mullioned windows each light with a
pointed head. Gabled stone bellcote with bell to roof.
Listing NGR: ST7903744113
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.