Description: Knowle Farmhouse
Date Listed: 17 October 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 267636
OS Grid Reference: ST5867642641
OS Grid Coordinates: 358676, 142641
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1815, -2.5926
Explore more of the area around Pilton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST54SE PILTON CP WEST COMPTON
4/161 Knowle Farmhouse
Farmhouse. C15; rebuilt C17, possibly in 1648 when John Datch painted a text inside, C19 and many C20 external
alterations. Colourwash rubble, double Roman tile roof, coped verge to left, hipped to right, 2 brick stacks and a
rendered stack. L-plan, postulated as a long house with an open hall and a contemporary cross wing, later altered to a
3-unit and cross passage plan. Two storeys, 4 bays, 3 and 4-light casements, except 3-light bead moulded stone
mullioned window to left of ground floor under a cornice dripmould. Door opening to centre obscured by a C20 lean-to,
4-light casement to front, C20 door to right. Single bay return with casements. Interior with a cross beam ceiling;
plank and muntin partition; painted text to first floor; fireplace in a dressed stone surround with a 4-centred head.
Roofs of cruck construction with archbracing, windbracing, soae smoke blackening. (VAG report, unpublished SRO,
Listing NGR: ST5867642641
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.