Description: The Abbot's Fish House
Date Listed: 22 November 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 267765
OS Grid Reference: ST4580441729
OS Grid Coordinates: 345804, 141729
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1722, -2.7766
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, The Abbot's Fish House and Fishponds, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Meare, Somerset at Explore Britain.
MEARE CP PORTERS HATCH (North side)
3/59 The Abbot's Fish House
House of the chief fisherman of the Abbot of Glastonbury; also used for salting and preparing fish. C14 (temp. Edward
III); roof renewed C20. Much weathered coursed and squared rubble, stone-tiled roof, restored eaves cornice, coped
verges with finials, freestone dressings. Rectangular on plan, 4 rooms to ground floor, 2 rooms to first floor, though
floor now removed; irregular fenestration; East end with a traceried 2-light pointed-arch window; 2-light chamfered
stone-mullioned windows; single-light openings in chamfered surrounds; all openings with later iron grilles.
Two-centred arch doorway in a chamfered stone surround to South; similar opening on first floor, formerly reached by a
flight of stone steps, now missing; 2 further narrow door openings to West, one on each floor; again iron grilles.
Interior with fireplace on each floor; 4 door opening in dressed stone surrounds. The building stood on the South-West
bank of Meare Pool, which had a circumference of 5 miles; it was drained in the late C18. It is postulated that the
fish house was erected in the time of Abbot Adam of Sodbury (1322-1335), who was also responsible for nearby Manor
Farmhouse (q.v). Scheduled Ancient Monument (Somerset County No 3). (Pevsner N, Buildings of England, South and West
Somerset, 1958; VAG Report, unpublished SRO, 9 September, l174).
Listing NGR: ST4580441729
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.